CLEAR Webinar: Increasing the Accuracy of Licensure Decisions: On the benefits of more, shorter exams (7pm EDT; 9am AEST)

  • 28 Jul 2021
  • 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
  • Via Webinar: at your desk! (July 28 at 7:00 P.M. Eastern; July 29 at 9:00 A.M. AEST)
  • 232

Registration

(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • If you are unable to select the member price and believe you or your organization is a member, please contact Tora Stubberud at tstubberud@clearhq.org to be added to a membership bundle.
    To add up to 4 additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.
  • To add up to 4 additional attendees under this registration at no cost, choose Add Guest after registering the first attendee.

Register


This session discusses a shift in thinking, moving away from focusing on the accuracy of exam decisions to a focus on the accuracy of licensure decisions. Exam decisions look at the outcomes of single exams, whereas licensure decisions consider the entire exam process (including retake policies). This presentation will show, using simple probability theory, how this change in focus leads to startling conclusions: Truly qualified candidates almost never receive false-negative licensure decisions when they are allowed multiple retake opportunities. Highly reliable exams can have shockingly high false-positive licensure rates. Multiple exams of modest length and reliability can result in more accurate licensure decisions.


The session content is appropriate for assessment professionals, policymakers, and administrators, in that it provides information on how to evaluate an assessment system with respect to its primary policy goal: increasing the accuracy of licensure decisions. Session attendees will learn about the concepts of reliability, decision consistency, and decision accuracy and how measures of these concepts are related. Attendees will learn how retake policies, while entirely appropriate, can drastically increase the likelihood of false positives when making licensure decisions. Finally, attendees will learn how more, shorter exams can improve accuracy while at the same time providing additional opportunities for candidate feedback and recognition (e.g., badging).


Presenter:

Brett Foley, Director, Professional Credentialing & Senior Psychometrician, Alpine Testing Solutions


The webinar will take place

July 28, 2021:

7:00 - 8:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time

6:00 – 7:00 pm Central Daylight Time

5:00 – 6:00 pm Mountain Daylight Time

4:00 – 5:00 pm Pacific Daylight Time

3:00 – 4:00 pm Alaska Daylight Time


July 29, 2021:

7:00 - 8:00 am AWST

8:30 - 9:30 am ACST

9:00 - 10:00 am AEST

11:00 am - 12:00 noon NZST


Offerings are presented through web-based PowerPoint and audio. Recognizing that many organizations are working remotely due to COVID-19, CLEAR is allowing up to 5 attendees to log in from different locations under the same registration. When registering, please add guests (at no additional charge), and all registered attendees will receive the email with login instructions. Attendees receive a copy of the PowerPoint presentation after the webinar.  Webinar attendees can also choose to purchase the webinar recording at a discounted rate when registering.


Home  |  About  |  Membership  |  Resources  |  CLEAR Learning  |  Awards  | Events
Join  |  Contact  |  Login  |  eNews Signup  |  Communities by CLEAR  |  Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2020 CLEAR
Please read the following disclaimer.  |  
Website by Nicasio LLC and CLEAR
108 Wind Haven Dr., Ste. A
Nicholasville, KY 40356
(859) 269-1289
Fax: (859) 231-1943
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software