Kenya to recognize 25 new healthcare worker categories

Regulation by Country,

The Ministry of Health in Kenya has agreed to recognize 25 new categories of healthcare workers that have previously not been recognized by law. The Kenya Health Professions Oversight Authority will create new regulatory bodies - such as information and records managers, counsellors and psychologists, occupational therapy, and radiographers. Medical social workers, audiologists, dental technologists/technicians, healthcare support assistants (caregivers), and paramedics are now recognized. Medical microbiologists, respiratory therapists, health education and promotion officers, occupational health and safety officers, medical parasitologists, sonographers, cytologists/embryologists/andrologists, physicists, population health officers, echocardiography technologists, neurophysiologists and technologists, dental hygienists, and clinical perfusionists still await assessment and recognition.

Read more